The Parkin Drawing Prize is Aotearoa New Zealand’s premier award for drawing. It promotes drawing in all its forms – as discovery, a testing of ideas, and decision making.

Congratulations to the 2022 winner of the Parkin Drawing Prize

Siân Stephens - Liam Cutting His Hair After An All-nighter

Siân Stephens the winner of the 2022 Parkin Drawing Prize

Siân Stephens from Wellington has been announced the winner of the 2022 Parkin Drawing Prize and $25,000 – sponsored by Chris Parkin, arts patron, and philanthropist. Read more.


“This tenth anniversary of the Parkin Drawing Prize is a real milestone in our nation’s art history. Thanks to Chris Parkin for his unfailing support of drawing and the visual arts. The Academy has been pleased to support the award since its inception and looks forward to yet another wonderful and thought provoking competition this year.”

Ray Smith, NZAFA President


See 2022 Finalist Artwork here

Congratulations to the Parkin Drawing Prize

2022 Winner

Siân Stephens Liam Cutting His Hair After An All-nighter (Wellington) - Not For Sale

2022 Merit Awards

Denise Batchelor Mark-Making, Slowly (Omapere)

Robyn Penn Hold Time (Auckland)

Veronica Herber Joy Net (Auckland)

Jordan Barnes The Artist in Situ (The War of Art) (New Plymouth)

Sam Dollimore Do You Think Dreams Are Shared Space (Let’s Talk About it Tonight) (Porirua)

Felicity Bergstrom I Captured Your Being (Waipawa)

Lisa Call Aragon (Paraparaumu)

Ina Johann Mapping Another Life: A State of Being in Disguise of a Cloud/Glitches 2022 (Christchurch)

Simon Nicholls Rugosity (Hamilton)

Lea-Anne Sheather Blessings Bequeathed (Whakatane)

See 2022 Judges comments here

2022 Parkin Drawing Prize Finalists


Rebecca Agnew - The Britney Spears Freedom Galaxy Endowment

Kathy Barber - Plume

Gareth Barlow - In Their Presence You Will Grow

Jordan Barnes - The Artist In Situ ( The War of Art ) MERIT

Denise Batchelor - Mark Making, Slowly MERIT

Janet Bathgate - Micrographica Anxietacea

Felicity Bergstrom - I Captured Your Being MERIT

Louie Bretana - Nature Waits Underneath The Concrete

Laura Buchanan - Names Will Never Hurt Us

Esther Bunning - Celebral Unravel

Esther Bunning / Catherine Daniels - Pixelated Memories

Lisa Call - The Journey

Lisa Call - Aragon MERIT

Hana Carpenter - Land Body

Greg Chaston - R.N. Barnes

Katherine Claypole - A Temporal Anomaly

Pass the Blue Collective - Restless

Zoe Cromwell - We Are a People of Hope

Brenna Crump - Boston Terrier

Akiko Diegel - Thinker

Akiko Diegel - David

Inge Kuindersma Doig - Faces in the Sand

Sam Dollimore - Do You Think Dreams Are Shared Space (Let’s Talk About it Tonight) MERIT

Wana Ellison - Vol. 2, pg. 65

Leslie Falls - Ophelia and Arthur go to Town Part 2

Nicholas Fields - We Are Made of the Same Stuff

Stuart Forsyth - Self -portrait

Robyn Gibson - 14 Things

James Gilbert-Milne - 974:1223

Brett Harfield - 20/20

Raewyn Turner / Brian Harris - Sort

Emily Harris - Down In the Valley By the Stream

Rowan Heap - Tomboy

Vishmi Helaratne - Vishmi’s Web

Lesa Hepburn - Erosion

Veronica Herber - Joy Net MERIT

Veronica Herber - Burnish

Ina Johann - Mapping Another Life  - A State of Being in Disguise of a Cloud/Glitches 2022 MERIT

Locust Jones - Isolation Is Bad For Business

Katherine Joyce-Kellaway - (un)certainty

Motoko Kikkawa - Weathers

Erika Kruger - Freak Show

Helen Lenihan - Scorched Earth 3

Kate MacKenzie - Refugees

Friday Meulengracht-Madsen - MeatSack #2

Rosemary Mortimer - Fragile Worlds

Deborah Moss - This Is The Place

Kylie Murrle - Metaverse

Samantha Murton - I Don’t Know What The Doctor Said

Debbie Neill - Evanescence lV-ll

Debbie Neill - Evanescence Xl-l

Gill Newland - Loop de Doo-dle

Simon Nicholls - Rugosity MERIT

Rachel Hope Peary - Scrawl

Robyn Penn - Hold Time MERIT

Roberta Queiroga - The Divorce Dress

Helen Reynolds - Black 1.113 (Doubt and Certainty)

Peter Rive - Untitled (Studio Floor)

Francis Salole - The Ossuary (In Deep Water)

Lea-Anne Sheather - Blessings Bequeathed MERIT

Louann Sidon - A Kind of Pale Jewel

Margaret Silverwood - Sunflower

Anne-Marie Simon - Sombre

Madeleine Slavick - In Times Like These

Jo Stallard - There’s Always Something About Gaia

Sian Stephens - Liam Cutting His Hair After An All-nighter WINNER

Jane Tan - Journal Entry  - Air

Ashia Te Moananui - Schizophrenia is the Art of Seeing the Invisible

Emma Theyers - Untitled (Riverton Stone 3)

Cathy Tuato’o Ross - Charites

Briar Tucker - For Just a Moment on the Lips

Greta Umbers - Forecast

Folina Vili - Untitled (hair) diptych

Christopher- David White - Sound of the Crowd

Billy Wilson - Tearing Strips 10

Bonnie Wroe - Jane




9 March 2022 

Entries are open.

31 May 2022

Entry closed at 4pm. 
Late entries will not be accepted.

27 June 2022

Works shortlisted for the prize announced.

22 July 2022 

Works shortlisted for the prize to arrive at the Academy, 4pm.

 1 August 2022

The winner was announced at the official awards evening at the New Zealand Academy of Fine Arts.

2 August - 11 September 2022 

The exhibition is open to the public.




Generously Supported by





+ Text Size -